Graduate studies in UP

Share your experiences while doing your graduate school in UP. You can provide tips and suggestions to other graduate students and ask questions at the same time.

OnT: I enrolled in a graduate program in Engineering several years ago. I was able to finish some of the prescribed units (12 units) but not the entire coursework. I wan to go back in graduate school but I fear that they will ask me to take the same subjects again. What are rules in penalty courses and MRR in graduate school?

2 Likes

I got my masters degree from UPOU. Swak siya sa educational needs and schedule ko kasi I work full time. I enjoyed independent and distance learning because I do it at my own pace. Profs will give the course outline and sched then bahala na kami sa sched namin as long as maipasa lahat ng requirements on time.

4 Likes

Na-MRR ako (took me six years to finish my master’s degree :joy:). I had to write an appeal letter. Considerate naman sila and I got re-admitted. Tapos I had go take a three-unit penalty course. Good for the next three years na yun if I’m not mistaken. Will post the graduate handbook if I find it.

2 Likes

Before masters…

For those wanting to pursue MBA or MS Fin, highly recommended ko yung Pre-MBA Analytical Primer by Regina Trevino to review for the proficiency tests for algeb/calc/math of finance/stat. Kulang lang ng accounting yan. But for accounting, I also suggest to enroll in the remedials for the proficiency if di ka accounting major. For the GPAT, kaya niyo na yan. Haha. Nakatapos ka naman ng undergrad. Just do well coz dun sinasala yung magpproficiency exams.

During masters…

Once you’re in, one of my tip is to have a pa-simpleng record ng classes through voice recorder ng phone mo. But don’t publish or share online coz bawal. Intellectual property ng prof yun. If you can ask permission sa prof, much better para walang privacy breach or whatever.