Family Ties: The Doctor

So there I was, in a dark corner of a little room, as a doctor.

I never knew you and I never really asked. I figured why should I even care? The fact is I consider you non-existent. My mom brought me up and you were never there, and I never really tried looking for you, or looking for any father figure at all. I think that is fair, considering my older brother vowed and cursed you face to face to never be beside you even at your funeral. For me, you are nothing but a stranger, and that is the least I can offer you, considering my mother and my brother saw you as an enemy.

I remembered the first time I met you. I was a freshman high. I answered the door and you were there, all dressed in white, like a don from a Godfather movie. Your eyes widened in awe as you saw me standing in front of you. You shook my hand and I asked you if you were looking for someone in particular. You were looking for my mom, unfortunately (or fortunately for my mom) she was not there. It never really passed my thoughts that you were my father back then. I mean I never really have an idea how you looked like. My brother said mom burned all your pictures when you ran away with your other girl to the states. My brother was old enough to understand those things back then, the reason maybe why he feels the same wrath as mom. I was 3 months old during that time so really, I never underwent the pain you left that moment.