Expats, share your journey here

Tell us where you’re based, your immigration story, and what opportunities are available for other Isko/Iska in your field.

My background: I’m an active duty officer in US military, serving for 16+ yrs. I earned my direct commission through a military graduate program. Currently doing a 3 year assignment overseas as one of the PCM/general practitioners for a fighter wing.

I can help with mentorship for US based Iskos who would like to know life in the military as a combat medic/advanced practice clinician.

7 Likes

Nasa Holy Land namamalo ng tao.
Met foreign wife at a seminar…
she liked my moves.
Followed the heart and
There you go…

12 years na

6 Likes

Singapore. I’m using a relatively new programming language na wala pa masyadong gumagamit sa Pinas, so dito ako naghanap. Applied via LinkedIn and was hired within 2 weeks. Nagulat na lang ako yung first interview was the final one na pala. Had to resign and fly to SG within a month.

Most of the openings are for experienced professionals, not for fresh grads. Based on feedback from friends, better kung MNC mag-work. Mas stressful pag purely local company. I guess same din sa Pinas, pag local mas may politics.

3 Likes

Nasa disyerto. Came here originally to visit the sister who was feeling lonely and homesick, got a job and decided to try it, since I was fairly young then.

Umuwi after the first two years because I thought, it’s not for me. Opportunity presented itself after a year, bumalik, nawalan ng work, nagbalak umuwi, nakahanap bigla ulet. Ayun, andito pa rin.

2 Likes

Most of my family are overseas. After many years working in Pinas, someone referred me for a job in SG. Tinry ko lang then I got the job. Stayed there for many years and got an immigrant visa to Australia. Then got another opportunity and moved Down Under. Tumatanda na ako so kapagod na rin palipat palipat so I’ve decided to settle here.