All About Minimalism

Do you subscribe to this lifestyle? What benefits have you reaped from practicing?

I can only remember a few times in my life when I spent so much money on non-essential, outrageous items (when my girls were younger, I bought boutique clothes/dresses on the regular). Now that my oldest is almost pre-teen ayaw na niyang matchy matchy sa mga kapatid niya. Yes I used to be that mom who looked homeless next to my well dressed kids. At least lahat kami ngayon pare pareho na lang :lol:

Things I practice now:
1)I tend to go social media free for a few months if I feel like it. I work in healthcare and I deliberately avoided FB in the last 6 weeks or so.
2) My wardrobe now consists of basic staples and lots of black/cream/grays - a few shirts, trousers, a few business casual attire then 3-4 holiday dresses (although I donā€™t skimp on running shoes and I buy 1-2 new pairs a year due to mileage)
3) Our kids get two gifts the entire year: one for each birthday then Christmas.

3 Likes

I actually started living minimally since I moved to various places in the span of 10 years. I have to cram everything I own into two check-in suitcases was my mantra. Anything that doesnā€™t fit, reminds me of bad memories (or doesnā€™t spark joy), I donā€™t like using na, I give away or toss or swap with something useful to me. Now, medyo kailangan ng adjustment kasi may toddler ako, I have to make compromise with constant kalat and things that donā€™t match.

Even my aesthetic with my apartment was minimalist. I like being decluttered because it helps me think and focus better. I also join mindfulness workshops every now and then.